Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Visiting museums is the best way to learn about a country.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many different ways to learn about a country. One of the best way of learning about a country is knowing it's history. Therefore, there have been debates about whether visiting museums is the best way to understand a country or not. I believe visiting museums isn't the best way to learn about a country. I will explain my reasonings for this statement in the following essay.

First, books can aid us to understand about countries. Books and articles depicting the history of a country will give an in depth explanation about different cultures and help us learn about the country, even better than by visiting museums. For example, a book about Iran will contain explanations about each era, the culture of people during different periods, theories about why they acted in a particular way, and even how these cultures have shaped the current society. Some books include pictures and explanations about historical relics, which makes them as effective as visiting museums. Therefore, using books as a means to understand and learn about a country can have more effects on our knowledge about the history and culture of the country including recent years than visiting museums would. Even experts knowledgable about a country mainly learn from books rather than museums.

Second, the best resource of learning about a country is it's people. by speaking with the people of a country we can learn greatly about the culture and even the history, specially from elders. For example, professor Moghadam our teacher for world history in University expalined that most of his knowledge about different ethnic groups of Iraq came from traveling to the region and speaking with it's people. He said by talking to the elders of villages he learned knowledge not offered in any of the books, gained understanding about different ceremonies, and where they originated from.

In conclusion, even though visiting museums is a good way to understand the history of a country there are better ways including reading books and interacting with people to learn about a country. Therefore, I believe using aformentioned routes is a better way of learning about countries.