Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people nowadays do not give enough time to help their communities. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, the trend toward globalization has been much stronger, and young people are less likely to communicate in person because many of them have smartphones. These changes has made young people contact less frequently with local communities. So as one of young people, I strongly feel that we do not give enough time to help our communities.

First of all, Young people today frequently move to distant places. Some people move to urban areas to get a job or to go on to university, and others go to foreign countries to study abroad. Some of them move back and forth between their hometown and distant places. This tendency has made local connections weaker. Actually, my hometown is Hyogo, which is western part of Japan. Now I live in Tokyo, which is eastern part of Japan, to go to university. Since I left Hyogo, of course I cannot participate local community, and most of those who live in Tokyo are young, so there doesn’t exist any local connection there.

Secondly, nowadays people tend to spend most of their time on improving their abilities. They spare less time for helping their communities. Some people say that this is the age when people are judged by their performances and that therefore the young should concentrate on acquiring skills, rather than contribute to their communities. However, if everyone avoid looking at the management of communities, they will collapse. It is true that many prestigious companies hire independently skilled people, but they are not only skilled as an individual, but also they are always considering what role they can play as a member of a team. This perspective is also indispensable for being a member of a superb community. I believe that young people today are lacking in this way of thinking.

Finally, young people are too dependent on electrical devices. When people are in online communication, they cannot understand fully what other people are feeling. This weakens the cohesion of a community. For example, when people are discussing some matter through e-mail, they don’t know how long others take their time considering about the reply, but when people are in direct contact, they can detect it if other people don’t prefer their ideas and are at a loss how to reply. Sensing the atmosphere is an essential measure of communication.