Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays science technology has advanced so much. In every specialized field of science, people put an emphasis on the strength of evidence when they accept new findings. In order to give out strong evidences, we should strive for accuracy and should reflect on the quality of what we do in each stage before moving on to the next step.

By taking enough time to elaborate experiment plans, we can get strong evidences from experiments. For example, three years ago I made a clinical research. I was curious about what kind of results the abuse of antibiotics which have broad spectrums. I take a lot of hours to examine the data of questionnaires answered by many hospitals. Then I realized an additional fact that developing countries are more likely to use antibiotics of broad spectrum without considering the situation much. I could get more information than I planned at first by taking time. This new finding rather attracted the attention from researchers from all over the world. By taking time examining what we do, we can sometimes get unpredictable profits.

Also, this is not only applied to today’s world, but would be common to every age. Efficiency doesn’t coincide with how fast we can finish tasks. If we make a mistake in the early stage of the task, we sometimes have to return to the first stage and start all again. For example, this is a case which I experienced five years ago. Again I was conducting a clinical research. The deadline of submitting my paper was coming close, so I was rushing to get the results. Because I was in a hurry, I was careless enough to make a basic mistake. I forgot to take confounding factors into consideration. Experiments can’t provide strong evidences when researchers don’t eliminate confounding factors. So I ended up spoiling the experiment. We can make a basic mistake when we struggle to meet a deadline. We should always take enough time to complete the task with the greatest performance.

As you can see in the previous paragraphs, working quickly doesn’t always bring about better results. Sometimes mistakes on the way can be fatal, so we should always take enough time to prevent mistakes and to review what we are doing. Then the consequence will be much better.