Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today we have a lot of news resources, like the Internet, TV, and radio programs. In this age of information, the ability to explore necessary and accurate information in limited time is indispensable. I disagree with the idea that a person must get information from many different news resources. In many cases, doing this will be just a waste of time.

First of all, the news resources are frequently duplicated in terms of the content. The way journalists gather information in order to publish the news article will be alike, so naturally the news resources and announcements will be almost the same. For example, I sometimes hear surprising news from some of my friends. Then the first thing I do is search the Internet for the articles related to the news. Because of my curiosity I browse many different websites, but after opening a few articles, I always find that different websites mention almost the same story. Thus, searching for many different sources is totally a waste of time.

Secondly, although there are many publishing and broadcasting services, just a few of them are reliable. Many other companies sometimes provide us inaccurate information.

For example, the other day, when I was checking an online news webpage, I found some articles about the murder by a medical student. Because I am a medical university student, I couldn’t believe that medical students who should take care of patients committed such a heinous crime. I also apprehended about the future of him because those who committed a murder are deprived of the right to become a doctor. However, the next day, when I talked about the accident with one of my friends, he let me know that the murderer is not a medical student. Thus, as you can see from this example, there are a lot of unreliable information, especially on the Internet. So it is rather important to have the capacity to differentiate between precise resources and false ones than to collect many news resources.

As I mentioned in the previous paragraphs, there are a lot of duplicated, and irresponsible articles. Sometimes it is the case that only a few articles have precise information. So we shouldn’t indiscriminately search for news resources without considering deeply.