Do you agree of disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Children spend most of their childhood with their parents. Parents shape their children from the beginning of their children’s lives, and develop close emotional ties with their children and share their interests with them. They teach them values. Therefore, parents can be significant teachers in children’s lives, but they are not always the best teachers.

Parents may be too close to their children emotionally. They may limit their children’s freedom in the name of safety. For example, an elementary school teacher may organize a trip to a place far from their hometown or take them to the camp for education. However, parents don’t think this preferable, because such a trip can expose their children to dangers. Although naturally, parents are worried about their children, this sometimes prevents them from growing up.

Another problem is that parents sometimes expect their children’s interest to be similar to their own. For example, one of my friends loves science, but his father loves economics. He was obedient to what his parents say, so he decided to major in economics as his father’s advice. However, he was not so interested in economics and was not able to concentrate on studying, and he failed some classes and repeated a school year. Finally, he couldn’t graduate from university. He again studied for university entrance exams and this time he majored in science. As you can see from this example, children sometimes succumb to parental pressure and are forced to choose an undesirable choice.

Finally, although many parents want to pass on their values to their children, values can change as time goes. Some parents, especially older ones, cannot keep up with rapid social changes and scientific revolutions. For instance, nowadays, there appear many tablets, like the iPad, which are convenient for studying. They can be written on by electrical pencils, and they are so light that digital textbooks are more comfortable to carry around than paper textbooks are. However, some parents opposed using digital books, thinking that students should use papers to study and should not use the same device as they use when they play games. They don’t understand or value the digital revolution.

To sum up, although parents teach their children valuable lessons and moral values, sometimes they can prevent their children from growing up, as I mentioned above. The best teacher can be different according to the situation.