The expression “Never, never give up” means to keep trying and never stop working for your goals. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the idea that people should never stop trying hard for their goals. Some people think we should look straight at our goals we set and spend all our available time and effort to achieve them. But I think it’s important to think again about our goals and also take some rests on the way.

Achieving our goals requires effort and patience, so it’s not easy to persistently concentrate on what we want to achieve. However anxious we are of attaining our goals, I think most of us will find ourselves tired from making efforts if we think of them all day long and spend every hour pursuing what we want to achieve. So we sometimes need to take some rests, and during the rest we shouldn’t think of our goals. By doing this we can refresh and fully spend our efforts on what we are pursuing. This is rather effective way than spending all the time making efforts and making the efficiency lower because of getting tired. Actually, many top athletes are doing this. They really concentrate on their sports during training, and after the workouts they watch movies and play games in order not to think about their goals.

In addition to this, I think it is necessary for us to check how much we have proceeded to our goals and how much possibility we have to attain our goals. If we find ourselves far from what we want to achieve, we should change our goals. And if we are likely to achieve our goals earlier, we can make our goals higher or more difficult. We should stop in the way to think about what we have achieved and how much we have to try from now, and adjust our goals to more realistic ones. If we fail to do this, the result may be worse.