Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my view, it is more enjoyable to have a job where I work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Spending longer hours at one time will be efficient in everything, and I want to spend a whole day off.

We can spend consecutive hours and days in family activities if we can have four days off in a week. For example, if we have consecutive two days off, we can go travelling. Also, if we have a day off, we can play sports with our families. Thus this system will allow us to participate in a variety of activities.

Also, spending long hours consecutively on a job will be more efficient than short hours. Generally speaking, efficiency of a certain task is at its best after we spend about an hour being involved in it. Once we quit a task on the way, we have to remember where we finished last time. In addition, if we have longer hours to spend on work, we can do what cannot be done within shorter hours.

Furthermore, working three days a week for long hours will be good for health mentally and physically. If we have to work five days in a row, we have to get early every weekdays, and we are more likely to catch a cold and are more stressful due to lack of sleep. Actually I am a medical student and participate in the internship in the University of Tokyo hospital. Usually I have to go to school at nine in the morning and finish at 4 p.m. However, while I am in an emergency department, I go to the hospital four times a week and spend longer hours, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., each time. I prefer the latter because I can concentrate on extracurricular activities like swimming, participating in a volunteer, and so on.

To sum up, spending long hours in a row will be more efficient and some tasks and activities cannot be finished within short hours. This is true not only for a job but also for a vacation. That is why I believe that it is better to work shorter times for longer hours.