Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays many people have a large variety of hobbies. There are so many entertainment activities such as TV, games, and so on. Some people say they are beneficial because people can refresh by entertainment and concentrate on their tasks more. However, I believe that people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment they like to do instead of the tasks or jobs they should do. The following paragraphs will elaborate on the reasons for this.

First, nowadays universities provide long vacations, and most university students spend most of their vacations on their leisure activities such as traveling, playing games, or playing sports. It's necessary for us to sometimes forget about tasks and enjoy what we want to do and refresh, but spending most vacations for such activities is too excessive. For example, I'm a student of University of Tokyo, which is one of the most prestigious universities in Japan. But many of my friends rarely spend their vacation time on studying. Even students in the prestigious university don't study so much, so we can easily imagine the situations in other universities.

Second, most of us have smart phones. Although smart phones are very useful because we can keep our schedules and search immediately on the Internet what we don't know.However, many people waste their time playing games or watching videos on their smart phones. For example one of my friends from my high school was excellent at studying. He always got the best marks in his class. However, his parents bought him a smart phone for his birthday present. After that he got indulged in playing games and watching movies on his smart phone. His academic performance got worse and worse, and in the end he failed the university entrance exam. Many people spend much of their time on their smart phones in vain as my friend in this example. When I get on the trains, many people seated are playing games, even elderly people do.

Third, now we can have access to many kinds of social network services on the Internet. Of course it's important for us to provide information about what we are doing because this might help others solve problems or come up with new ideas. However, nowadays we are too much dependent on social network services. We can feel close to other people when we use them, so it is comfortable for some people to always use them. Actually, some years ago I was enjoying using Twitter and always trying to keep up with timelines. Because of this I wasted my time and I couldn't spend enough time on reviewing my classes.

To sum up, people are spending too much of their free time on their leisure activities. We should spend more time on dealing with what we have to do. Then the economic situations will improve and technology will develop more and more.