Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that in today’s sophisticated world we live in, the roles of young people in the society are very crucial. Cooperation of young people for making significant decisions can have a great influence not only on their destiny but also on the next generations. Though, dealing with social issues in the community or government by younger ones could have some conspicuous advantages, its negative influences on the society are the subject of contention. Some believe that in these days young persons do not impact on the important decisions in the society, while others oppose this idea. I personally concur with the former groups’ idea. In what follows, my own opinions would be delineated.

The first reason coming to mind is that most of the young individuals are deal with their routine and personal works. It is clearly evident that people have some special goals in their lives. Some of them make plans to go to the university and after that attend to their desirable job. Thus, most of the youths pay much attention to themselves. So, they do not try to get involved to ongoing political, social and economic issues in their community. For more illustration, take a youth trying to graduate from a university. Due to the fact that, nowadays, a job market is very competitive, he has to find a profitable occupation in order to make more money. Therefore, his mind is allocated to seek a job. Even after getting the job, he would follow other aims in his life. On the contrary, elder people like my father is always involved in the political problems which are related to the government. As it turns out; the young people often don’t spend time for making a good effect on the significant decision making of their society.

The second reason is rooted in the insufficient education of young people about the importance of contribution to politics, economics, and social sciences. Universities and schools often provide obligatory courses or programs for their students that are related to their major. They have to concentrate on their lessons in order to pass them. Thus, cooperation in the society would not be occurred by them due to having inadequate information. We should take into account that newspapers and other public medias like television or radio can create an appropriate environment to promote the students’ general knowledge about prominent events and decisions in the community. For instance, according to one statistics data which is published on May 2015 from the Iran Statistical Institute, most of Iran’s universities have focused on the academic progress of their students in order to enhance their ranking amongst other national universities. It follows that youths don’t care about substantial issues or happening going on in their country.

In conclusion, based on aforementioned reasons which contribute to involving young people in serious decisions in the country, I want to fortify my standpoint. Concentration on the personal purposes such as education, job, and emotional requirements and having not enough information and instruction are two important factors to indicate that youths do not have practical influences on their momentous issues and decisions in their community.