Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A university education should be provided free of charge to all interested scholars.

Use examples and reasons to support your position.

Although there are many people considering that the university education should be supplied to all interested scholars free, I have a different attitude toward this view. I think that it is not suitable for college education to charge nothing. There are several reasons for me to explain it.

First, the free university education may have poor quality because the college doesn't have enough money to give salary to professors and maintain the class. For example, I was a college student in Taiwan. I have attended a speech class which was free for everyone. However, although the topic of the speech was so attracting, the professors invited were not so good. They talked something basic and not professional. Furthermore, the classroom was not tidy because there was no staff responsible for maintaining the room.

Second, if the college education was free, no student would cherish it. If every university student does not have to pay for class, they will quit the class easily because every student prefers to go outside for entertainment. Take my classmates for example. Everyone in my department had to pay for the biology class but it cost less. Even though every student definitely had to be charged for the class, several students chose to go to see the movie because it cost them less money.

Finally, if the university gets enough money, higher quality of professors will be recruited so that overall teaching quality will be improved. Take my college for example. The enrollment of my school increased last year so that the college recruited more professors who graduated from good universities. Actually , they taught well. We also enjoyed the contents they have taught us.

In conclusion, although many people consider it better not to charge for university education, I think it is wrong. It is good for every student to pay for high quality of teachers and classes.