Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History is an important subject that helps us understand the events that happened in the past, along with the reasons of them happening. However, should it be mandatory for all university students to take history courses? Personally, I disagree with the provided statement for a few reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, there are many different jobs and professions in the world that has nothing to do with history. Then why should we force students that are studying these programs to take history courses if they are not going to be able to use that knowledge in the first place? My sisters experience is a compelling example of this. In high school, she studied numerous subjects such as geography, german language, chemistry, biology, and philosophy. She eventually forgot most of these knowledge that she learned. The reason for that was because she decided to pursue a career in chemistry and never had a chance to use the knowledge she gained from many subjects she learned in high school. If she was taught subjects that were more closely related to chemistry, she could be even better at her job today. This is why I believe that students should not be forced to take lessons that they will never need.

Secondly, if students that are simply not interested in history were to take history courses by force, it would lower its quality because students would occupy themselves with other things such as browsing the internet or playing video games using their laptop. For instance, when I was in high school, we had a subject called business management that we had to take. Most students didn't like it. They would get bored and start throwing erasers at each other. I, however, would really enjoy that subject because I thought that the knowledge that I've gained about business management could come handy in the future. Unfortunately, I'd get distracted because of other students who did not enjoy being there. Accordingly, I am of the opinion that only the students that are interested in history should join the history courses. Otherwise, it would both be a waste of time for other students and damage the quality of the lessons given in the course. There is simply no sense in forcing students who might not want to participate in a history course into taking them.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students should never be forced to take any courses or subjects that they have no interest in, including the history courses. It is because if the course is not related to the career that they pursue, the knowledge they learned about those subjects will simply be forgotten in a year or two. And if they don't want to partake in that course, then who are we to decide what is useful for them?