Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in relationship between people.

Honesty in a relationship has been admired for years. In an overall scenario, I think everyone like to hear truth around them but when told, reactions can devastating. Many believe that telling truth always improves your relations with people, but I am skeptical about this theory. Often, we treat people with our own perception of their personality, and based on this we create assumption about their behaviors which may or may not be their real behaviors. I believe that telling truth has a lot to do with circumstances we face every day, with all types of people. I do not completely agree with this idea that telling truth is the most important consideration in a relationship.

Honesty is generally appreciated in relationships between husband and wife, Mother and her child, where we are a part of one family tree and dependant on each other for our daily needs. Those relationships which are outside the family tree does not need to know the truth all the time or in another word, it is not advisable, to tell the truth in certain circumstances, for example, a relationship between a patient and a doctor. Imagine if a doctor tells his patient directly about the severity of their health without concealing it with supportive words, this version of truth might be very hard for a person to digest and it can impact their health further with anxiety, nervousness or in some cases mental issues.

The other reason, I think that telling the truth every time can be disastrous in an employer-employee relationship. An employer has to be very encouraging and supportive to get best from their employees, even if they do not perform their best on some occasions. Imagine, while rating employees during appraisal time, an employer sometimes rate their employees little higher to motivate them and keep them with their current job. In this case, if an employer directly informs the employee about their bad performance but still rating them high just to keep them motivated then, an employee might feel rejected. So the whole theory to keep things transparent between employer and employee might be no use.

I would like to conclude this essay with my support for honesty overall in relationships but with an additional thought that it might not be the best, to tell the truth in all scenarios.