Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities and colleges have to play an important role in developing the country and improving social quality. Those are the places which shape the future of the country. Most thinks that universities and colleges are as academic oriented places and they should give more focus and financial supports to classes and libraries. But this is not true and nonacademic activates like sports and social activities are equally important. This can be explained as follows.

First of all sports and social activities can give fame to the university and country. For instance, when I'm studying for my first degree at University of Colombo Sri Lanka, my best friend Bill got selected to Sri Lankan cricket team and he was contributed to win Cricket world cup to Sri Lanka. Because of that our university got lot of attention from world, government, sport medias, which caused to increase the reputation of the university. After that university got funds from many organizations, not only to sports but also for academic departments and researches also. This states that supporting sports and social activities can have benefits to the overall university.

Secondly sports and social activities helps to improve social and leadership skills of students. These skills cannot get from classes or libraries. For an example, current Prime Minister of Sri Lanka studied from my university (University of Colombo). Most frequently he acknowledges to Debate society and Rotract club of the university, as it is the place where he improved his leadership skills. As this example points out to have better leaders, class education is not enough. Therefore universities and colleges needs to give equal financial support to sports and social activities as well.

Last but not least, sports and social activities helps students to reduce academic stress. University and college environment is full of assignments and exams and might affect to mental health of students. But having sports and social activities can help them in such situations. When I'm at high school, I was really stressed due to exams and assignments. Beacuse of this scored very low in some subjects. Then one friend suggest me to join to the Music Club. After I became a member at music club, I felt big release and my stress level was reduced. It was also help me in my studies. So from experience I can say that supporting sports and social activities can indirectly help academics.

In conclusions, now it is clear that in a university or a college non-academic activities plays important role as same as academic activities. The purpose of these institutions should be broad. Their goal is to produce a balance persons not just a book reader. For that supporting sports and social activities are essential. Therefore authorities should give equal priorities to both academic and nonacademic , in financial report.