Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Determining whether people are less happy or satisfied nowadays or not is an important matter. Knowing this fact will help the health organizations and also governments to find the reasons behind this and decide about it to improve their satisfaction. Some people may think that they are happier than their ancestors while other may disagree. In my opinion people were happier in the past because of two main reasons.

The main reason is that the people are busier nowadays. These days because of the emergence of new technologies and the pace of this emergence everyone is trying to stay on track and tries harder not to fall behind of his competitors. For example, in my workplace, everyone is trying to reach the predefined goal sooner and with best results. Once, we had a project to develop new technologies concerning the automation of vehicles and I and my coworkers were trying to reach the goal first, hence, everyone was really stressful and worried not to fall behind of the colleges.

The other result is that people have got really eager to improve and gain more profits. As mentioned in the previous paragraph the world looks like a race nowadays and as a result people are trying to become perfect and be wealthier. Furthermore, due to the enormous amount of advertisements and movies in which luxurious lifestyle is being advertised, people are trying to look like these movies characters and live like them. This try leads them to work very hard in order to reach that lifestyle. For instance, my cousin is a diehard fan of Jennifer Lopez and she always try to look like her. She makes up so much, do a lot of exercises and etc. for this goal but she is always unhappy that she is not like her. This experience taught me that people are less happy than the past because of their expectancies.

In sum, though some may disagree with my opinion, I deeply believe that people were happier in the past. Not only are they busier but also they have higher expectancies than the past which make them to fell less satisfied. Governments and organizations should figure out a way to change this lifestyle to make people more satisfied and happy in order to increase their mental and physical health.