Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Every child should be raised in a home with two parents. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

That children should be raised in a home with two parents is an undeniable fact. Every child deserves the advantage of having both parents present, especially at the early stages of childhood. I concede that the concept of modern family-single mom, single dad, two moms or two dads- has found its place in the homes of many young children; But, having two parents, a mother and a father is still a privilege that not everyone possesses. In what follows, I will discuss my justifications for holding this notion.

Firstly, we have to keep in mind that traditionally, mothers and fathers have different roles in fostering their child. Mothers are children’s first and most prominent teachers and Fathers are their heroes and first friends. Their roles cannot be taken by one another; For supporting example, one need look no further than one of the conventional school dances in which exclusively, girls are to dance with their dads. For a schoolgirl, Dancing with her single mom, wouldn’t be as nearly exciting as dancing with a dad she doesn’t have, and she would feel ashamed.

Moreover, a child is better taken care of and attended to if both parents are present. A single parent is required to work in order to provide for the family, hence they wouldn’t have much time to spend with their child. In the case of two parents, one of them can go to work and the other can stay at home with the child. I had a friend whose mom was divorced; she was always alone at home and would always get scared. Her mom had to work long hours so she could pay rent and other expenses.

To add further credibility to the claim that children should be raised in homes with two parents, we can consider the division of labor that occurs when both parents are present and have their traditional roles. For example, if the dad makes dinner, the mom would shower the child. But in the case for a single parent, all the chores would be the responsibility of one person. Thus, the quality of the work, whether it is feeding the child, helping the child with school assignments or keeping a tidy, clean home for the child to grow in, would be reduced.

In Closing, I believe because of the distinctive roles of each parents, the increased amount of time that each parent can spend with the child and the division of labor for both child affairs and household chores, a child should be raised in a home with two parents.