Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The way that governments exploit their budget has always been of great controversy throughout the world. One of the predominant expenses that governments face is public transportation. Tax-payers have high expectations regarding this matter and that is why executives have always paid great attention to it. Recently, with the advent of technology and widespread use of the internet, many societies have asked the governments to facilitate internet access in the cities, villages and even in remote areas. This has created additional expense for the officials to set a percentage of taxes for rendering internet access to the public. Interestingly, some hold the opinion that it is even more crucial for governments to spend money for the improvement of internet access than renewing and improving public transportation. Although this notion has gained some popularity with the youngsters, I believe that it is not accurate. In what follows, I will discuss my justifications.

First, one has to consider all the age groups that exploit a certain service the government provides. Practically every single person in a society, from young school children to the elderly, uses public transportation system at some point; However, the range of the internet users is somewhat limited to young people and adults. Older people and adolescents do not surf the net. Many do not even possess computers and cellphones. For supporting evidence, one need to look no further than their own relatives; Young kids who still have not learnt how to read and old people with reduced eyesight are not into technology that much. Hence, It is logical to say that when a larger proportion of people uses a certain public equipment, more money should be spent for its development and advancement.

Moreover, many people have access to internet at their homes and offices. Many public places like airports, libraries and museums render free Wi-Fi. So, even if governments do not set money apart for providing access to internet, people will be fine. However, this is not the case for public transportation. Not everyone can afford to buy personal automobiles or pay taxi fares; And even if they could, increased use of personal cars could lead to more traffic, noise and pollution. Thus, it is safe to assume that a lack of competent public transport system can disturb the daily lives of people; Whereas the lack of public internet access would not be as disastrous.

In closing, by taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, one can conclude that more budget should be spent on the improvement of public transportation compared to internet access.