TOEFL TPO 46

In the modern world of today, Hollywood celebrities are chief role models of the public. People, in general, pay a great deal of attention to the opinions of famous celebrities, regard them as trustworthy sources of information and try to follow their path to success and renown. Some argue that younger generation is more attentive to the opinions of well-known celebrities than the older generations. I agree with this notion. I believe the opinions and ideas of famous actors, entertainers and athletes are highly regarded by young people and less so by older people.I consider this to be the case for several reasons and I intend to explain why.

Firstly, we have to consider the environment in which young people are living in nowadays; Rather than the real world, they tend to spend their days in the virtual world, especially social media. Celebrities, with millions of followers have the most influential pages on twitter, instagram, facebook and so on. Whenever they share something, hundreds of thousands of people view it in their feed instantly. Hence, they can easily affect public opinion about different topics, because they get heard the most. Young people think celebrities' opinions are important mainly because they are most widely known. However, generically, older people are less prone to spend their time on social media and thus, they don't really know what celebrities are saying. To illustrate further, I intend to set an example. Last year, a well-recognized, highly popular singer in my country posted a text on instagram in which he terribly insulted girls. This caused a public disgust towards him and everyone decided not to buy or listen to his songs. My dad however didn't know about this because he doesn't have an instagram account and played his song in the car. My sisters and I got furious and told him what was going on.

Secondly, older people, as opposed to younger ones, have a vast amount of experience in their lives. At one time in thier lives, they might have been huge fans of a celebrity and like younger people today, they might have considered famous peoples' opinions to be of great importance. Nevertheless, as they grew older, they gained a lot of experience, met a lot of people, and found out that there are actually so many people whose opinions are truly amazing and much deeper than the opinions of celebrities. For example, my mother, who in the prime of her life, was the biggest Marylin Monroe fan, is now rather ignorant of his affairs and statements. She told me that as she grew older, she met a lot of great people who influenced her alot and she doesn't think of Johnny Depp's opinions that important anymore.

In Closing, I believe because of the foregoing two reasons, the opinions of celebrities are more important to younger people than they are to older poeple.