Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The dichotomy between theory and practice exists almost in every area of knowledge. People behave differently from the theory they have learned and even some believe that it is the norm, so they generally think the theory is useless. And thinking about job poses, one might ask how important is the social skill compare to academic knowledge, in other words, is it more important to relate well to people at work than studying hard in school? Personally, I think the latter is much more important for numerous reasons: in the future, jobs will become more virtual with little interaction with people, and knowledge acquired in school is the basis for problem-solving and decision-making.

Firstly, the final goal of a job pose is to accomplish the task assigned. And in today's world, nearly everyone works with computers or other electronic devices which determine their performance, this trend is likely to increase in the future. Therefore, studying hard in school where IT subjects take place is more prevalent to master those devices at work than relating well with others. For example, an accountant depends entirely on some computer software and his knowledge about accounting in order to do his or her job, social skills are needless in this case.

Additionally, the hard work in school allows students to become an expert in their domain, thus, handling challenging problems successfully. Many real world problems require understandings of theoretical concepts previously. For instance, the CEO of a shoe factory must be savvy in economics and business management to avoid the firm to go bankrutpcy. He or she should understand indications of an economic crisis so as to adjust the corporate policies to overcome it.

In short, even though social skills are relevant in some jobs like customer service, without the knowledge learned in school, an individual will have a hard time succeeding in a future job because our future world probably relies more on technology than personal relationships and the foundations for firms survival are rooted ultimately on knowledge.