Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people believe that for the betterment of the country the government should spend money on school children whereas some says that more money should be invested on university level. In my opinion, government should spend more on the university education. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, universities provide new technological innovations and research developments, which in turn helps the countries prosperity. Undoubtedly, university has to be well equipped with qualified professors and lab facilities, which need a lot of funds from government than the funds required for running high school. For instance, if I compare academic curriculum of my university with my high school, I can say that at university I did intense research and development project. The research project on drug development was funded by government and the results was fully utilized for the drug development of the major industries in my country.

Secondly, I believe that university molds a student to be a competent and great professional. The countries development and prosperity lies with the budding generation and how competent they are in the global market. While at schools children learn the basics of education, at university they learn how to apply it to the life and to become successful. For example at my university they taught me the marketing strategies of drug industry. In short it is very important for government to fund more university to build a great background for countries progress.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that government should allocate more money for university than high school. This is because university education is much complex which needs lot of funds for functioning and also university education presents country with competent professionals.