Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Youngsters make decisions about their life in many ways. Some people probably think that young generation are able to make good decision about their own life rather than depending on parents because of the technological advancements around them. In my opinion however, it is always better to depend on parents opinion to make life choices these days due to a variety of reasons.

First of all, young generation are immature to make better decision about their life, and it is always better to consult their parents who have more life experiences. Although some people argue that modern technologies help children to make well informed decision about their future, but I believe that it has nothing to do to improve children's worldliness and level of maturity. My own life experience is a compelling example of what I mean. When I finished my high school, it was my father who helped me to choose the best university for my higher studies. My dad has a very good knowledge about the academic ranking of almost all the universities around the globe , and also the advantages and disadvantages of different colleges. Thankfully, I opted the best and number one university all because of my dad's effort. If I would have not consulted my parent's opinion I might have ended up in a bad school, which would have a profound effect on my career. Thus, parent's experience and knowledge guides youngsters in the long journey of life.

Secondly, today's parents are living in a world of technology, which will help them to provide their children all means of direction in their life. In the past, parents were not exposed to Internet or any technological innovation, so their quality of guidance were limited. In the aforementioned example, my dad regularly updated his knowledge with the help of google and gmail services. He constantly e-mailed his professors to seek information and expert guidance. Additionally, he read all the reviews and details of each and every college in google, which helped me to finalize my choice of college. As a result I was able to make the best choice of my career only because of my dad's expert advice. Thus, the parent's of this generation is well advanced in terms of technological expertise when compared to parents of old generation.

In conclusion, it is always better for young generation to take guidance and advice from parents these days rather than depending own their own knowledge. This is because parents have more life experience and understanding about the world, and because most parents are well advanced in the field of technology.