Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities offer history classes to students in order to give them a better understanding about the past. In fact, it is important that students should have a passion for seeking the history to best utilize those classes. Many colleges think that the history classes should be mandatory for all students regardless of their field of study. In my opinion however, it is better to give freedom for students to choose history classes in their curriculum.

First of all, learning any subject needs verve and perseverance, and if we pressurize students to learn a subject of no passion, it will be futile. Similarly, a student who is not fascinated about learning history, will not be able to grasp it even if he struggles to do so. My own experience is a compelling example of this phenomenon. During my college days, my parents insisted me to learn world history. Without any interest and passion, because of my parents pressure, I joined a well know history class. I tried my best to focus on classes for a year, but latter realized that I was simply wasting my time and effort. I was not able to give my hundred percent because I had a hatred towards the subject. Today, I realize that if I had focused on a subject of my passion, I would have saved a lot of my time and energy.

Secondly, a lot of money will be wasted if we try to make history classes mandatory for all students without considering the students preferences. Financial status of both the university and students will be affected if such a rule is made by the college. For example, in order to teach history, university have to hire a well experienced professor and based on the number of students more number of faculty have to be recruited, which in turn increases the financial budget of the college. In the contrary, If history classes are optional only few interested students would be there in the class, and thus college have to hire only few staffs based on the requirement. Furthermore, students can also save money if they do not have to buy books and supplies of a subject of no interest. Thus, both students and college can best utilize their budget in the best possible ways.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that university should always give liberal choices to students for selection of history classes instead of forcing them to pursue it regardless of their area of study. Those mandatory rules will make students to struggle to learn a subject of no interest, thus wasting their valuable time and effort, and also create financial difficulties to both students and college. Hence, history classes should be optional.