Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would he more satisfying.

Job plays a significant part in personal development. However, whether or not that people should take a secure job right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying is worth of some debate. From my point of view, i am against the statement that people should choose a secure job rather than a satisfying job because of the following factors: ability to compete, self-satisfaction, and positive attitude.

From the perspective of personal ability to compete with other, choose the secure job often makes people to lost their ability to compete with others. That is to say, if a person who always chooses a secure job want to or need to change his career, it will be so hard to survive for him in a highly competitive work environment. For example, being an assistant in a steady government institute is really a secure and relatively simple job in Taiwan. An assistant often has the similar work every day and seldom face any challenges. In the 2008, there was an economic recession in Taiwan, a lot of assistant are fired because of cut of budget. It is hard for these people to find a job because they lost their ability to compete and face challenge which is required in most jobs.

In addition, choosing a secure job rather than a satisfying job cannot let people to get their self-satisfaction which is essential in personal development. Generally speaking, a happy and successful life always includes self-satisfaction. A secure job may give us a steady life, but a satisfying job can give us a happier life we want. For instance, being a magician is a risky job because there are great numbers of competitors and the audiences are hard to be entertained. However, being a magician is the greatest thing for people who really love magic. Although the income may not steady and they have to practice day and night, they get a great self-satisfaction from their career and enjoy their life.

Last but not least, having a satisfying job leads people to have a more positive attitude to life. A person has a job he likes often have a healthier mental condition and don't think things in a negative way.

According to the reasons mentioned above I am convinced that people should take a satisfying job instead of a secure job based on the aspect of ability to compete, self-satisfaction, and positive attitude.