TPO 35 :

Agree/Disagree: In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Cars play an indispensable role in human daily life. However, whether there will be fewer cars in use in 20 years than today is worth of some debates. From my point of view, I agree with the statement that there will be fewer cars in use and more and more people will take public transportations instead of owing a private car. My statement will be substantiated by following paragraphs.

First of all, there will be less people to have their own cars because of limited space and increasing population. The population today is increasing exponentially and land is becoming more and more expensive. People can't afford to buy a parking space even if they have a car. For example, in Japan, the government asks citizen to have their own parking spaces before they can have their cars. In the big city such as Tokyo, it's impossible for normal people to buy a parking space, so most people take subway or bus instead of driving a car. Therefore, it's convincing that there will be fewer cars in the future.

In addition, people nowadays are more willing to take public transportations because of environmental issue. The global warming caused by human industry caused serious climate changing in these years. Driving private cars is one of main reason which is causing the air pollution. According to the improvement of people's environmental consciousness, people will use their own car less and less to save the world.

Last but not least, driving private cars is not convenient as before. People can save more time by using other advanced transportations such as high speed trains or air planes. Cars are becoming less important in our daily life, and the numbers of cars will definitely reduce in the future.

In conclusion, according to the reasons mentioned above, I'm convinced that there will be fewer cars in use in the future based on the aspects of limited spaces, environmental issue, and advanced transportations.