Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

1)Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

2)Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

3)Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People usually have different actions when they hear of incorrect information during a presentation. While some attendance will immediately interrupt the event and raise their voice about it, in my opinion, I agree with the idea that we should wait until the end of the meeting or class to mention the mistake with the presenter. There are three reasons for my view which will be explored in the following essay.

First of all, the meeting leader may feel humiliated when his mistake is raised in the middle of the talk. As the result, he likely loses his inspiration and the entire presentation can be ruined due to a minor error. If it is the case, audience may miss valuable information which should be unveiled at the later part. My friend´s experience is a compelling example. His teacher invited a guest foreign professor to give a lecture for his biology class who later made a minor mistake. My friend interrupted this talk to point out the error making him so embarrassed that he could not continue his work. As a result, they missed the later important part of his lecture.

Secondly, waiting until the end of the talk to mention the incorrect information is a way to show respect to the teacher. He or she might have some personal issues with family, management or students itself, so, in those circumstances we should tell it of in a decent way like after the class hour I noticed that there was error in your statement, then, he or she will take in positive way and appreciate you. Besides, this action certainly gives him or her a chance to fix the error at later stages and listeners gain benefits from the provided information. I remember my recent attendance to the chemistry class where my teacher made a mistake on a formula. All students kept silence so that the lecturer could continue his interesting topic. Later, my professor discovered and fixed the mistake. My friend and I thus enjoyed a fruitful lesson.

Finally, people tend to be smarter than they actually are and cause silly mistakes in pointing out the error which is actually not. Hence, speaking at the middle not only shows your behavior as impolite but may also humiliate yourself.

In conclusion, I understand why some people prefer interfering the speech to correct the error but it seems to me that fixing it at the end of event is more appropriate due to the above mentioned reasons.