Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, people were happier than today?

Undoubtedly, almost all of the people in the world were seeking happiness in the past. But there is no difference in the current attempts to find it. Although some people adamantly claim that, in the past, people were happier, others may take an opposite viewpoint. This issue is so controversial and needs some research to find out what idea is closer to reality. Personally, I think that people now are happier than people who lived several decades ago. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, quick advances were beneficial for the human in the most cases. Such advancements bring more sense of being in a satisfying environment and hence, feeling happier. When somebody talks about this new quick world, the first thing which comes to mind is technological devices which ease our lives such as medical devices, education advances, new utilitarian in the homes, communicational devices, and so on. Each of mentioned advancement has lonely a profound effect on our lives which is undeniable. My own experience can elucidate this argument. I can remember when I was a little girl, about fifteen years ago, my uncle had serious cancer which remained unrecognized until it reached to terminal stages. He died because there was no device to diagnosis his disease. Now, most of the cancers could be diagnosed as soon as possible because of technological advancement.

Second, the standards of living have improved because of the changing in the economic system in this competitive world which is changing quickly. Now, people's welfare has increased and they can afford objects which were a dream for ordinary people in the past. For example, my mother always talks about her life in the past when she forced to do a plenty of housework including washing the clothes or cooking meals for her family and then washing the dishes, cleaning the home and so on. She loved reading romance novels but she had no time to read a book. But now all of these duties can be done by machines in a short time and my mother feels happier when she can do her favorite activities.

All in all, now people in the world are more satisfied compared to the past since the advancement benefit them and, as well as, the people feel more serene because of their improved lifestyle.