Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People always settle in different situations that make them decide for it. Decision making is a critical issue, especially for young people, because they are sensitive and less experienced in life. In comparison with the past, today, young people are less dependent on their parents for deciding on their lives. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, today young people have more experience as compared with the past. Being experienced is essential for deciding because it helps one to meet issues effectively. Also, have lots of experience helps one to see diverse aspects of an issue clearly and can choose the right decision based on his reasoning. There are lots of ways to gain experiences these days, such as traveling around the world and communicating with people efficiently. When one travels, he will meet new people and will hear about their lifestyles and about their problems. Knowing about other people's problems and their solutions for solving those problems helps us to increase our knowledge and our experience. Young people use these capacities to improve their experiences and increase their ability for decision-making.

On the other hand, today, youths are educated in school and learn from the media to be independent. Education theories suggest that being independent helps students to be more successful in their lives and their education. School and university courses are planning based on independency, which makes young people more dependent on themselves. Also, different media are encouraging youths to live separate from their parents after the legal age. Television, the internet, and books are full of characters that are living independently from their parents. Also, living independently is advertised a lot in different media. Youths are affected profoundly by these concepts, which encourage them to separate from their parents. Living independently gives them the ability to decide about their own lives and to not rely on their parents for decision making.

In conclusion, I think that these days, young people have more ability to decide about their own lives. Because there are various ways to gain experience and improve knowledge, young people are more experienced, which helps them to make better decisions. Also, education systems and media learn youths to be independent and be able to make decisions about their own lives.