Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Decision making indeed is an important process which makes up personality of every single individual and shapes their future. To emphasize the importance of decisions made during a person's life, some indicate that nowadays individuals of younger generation make decision on their own instead of relying on their parents, as past generation used to. I also believe that young people tend to make decision on their own rather than depending on their parents.

First and most importantly, that the young people can make decision independently regardless of their parents is becuase of better family treatment and education, that is, parents nowadays have better insight on how to raise their children independently since the field of pscyhology has advanced since past, and parents learnt how to treat their children in order to build their personality better. For instance, rarely occurred that a parent starts a book about how to teach children various values in past, but such books are so prevalent and popular among parents nowadays.

Secondly, we should not overlook the role of media, e.g. television, radio, internet, etc., in establishing the young people's personality. The media was not dominant in the past as it is today, and now various options are imprinted in young people's minds due to advertisements and other programs exisitng in different medias. With existance of media, young people learn various options, and gradually learn what aspect to consider when making a choice. For instance, there was no fasion shows in the past, and young people used to ask their parent's opinion about how to dress. But the need for this dependence is obviated since young people observe the options and the choice of other people's and learn how to choose between the available alternatives.

Finally, the training system taught in schools was so simple in the past that young people only learned about scientific subject such as math, biology, chemistry, etc. However, the awareness of society was gradually improved, since a change in the educational system. This change happenned becasue society started to realize that knoweledge is not confined to math and biology, but also personality and social interations and how to make decision should be augmented in young people as well. The schools tend to have a better training systems nowadays that teaches individuals how to consider various ascpects when making a choice, untying their dependence to their parents.

In conlcusion, young people are no longer dependent on their parent for making decision as they used to be in the past. In other words, this independence is partly a result of better awareness of one's personality, which is evovled gradually over time due to better knowledge of parents, prevalence of media, and better training program in schools, and can lead to a better society.