Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The relationship between young people and their parents is always an interesting topic. Some people consider that young people nowadays become more independent. However, the other groups of people still think young people nowadays are still childish and rely on their parents. For me, I strongly agree with the statement. Below are three reasons that I support.

First of all, young people nowadays have more information than the past. With the breakthrough of internet, young people nowadays are able to look up more information by themselves when they need to make an important decision. For example, if a young student wants to decide his major at the college. He can looks up related course and comments for the subject via internet nowadays. However, in the past, it was not easy to obtain that much resource. As a result, young people might just follow their parents' experience and guidance.

Secondly, more traditional rules are broken nowadays. Young people today don't emphasize on traditional rules that much. For example, in the past, young people in Taiwan should ask for their parents' agreement when they want to get married.

That is a traditional way to show their respect to their parents. However, young people today tend to decide their marriage themselves no matter their parents agree or not. That is to say, traditional rules nowadays have little restriction to young people than in the past.

Last but not least, young people nowadays have more income than before. That is to say, young people in the past rely on their parents for the support on economy. Then, they must listen to their parents' idea more. However, college students nowadays can earn a lot by being a tutor. In Taiwan, a freshman works in a science park can get 1 million NT dollars a year. As a result, young people don't have to follow their parents’ opinion because of economic problem.

To sum up, young people nowadays have more information than before. Besides, they like to break traditional rules and are able to make more money. Thus, they are better able to make decisions about their own lives.