Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

As the lives are more complicated than before, people need to make different decisions on each stage of life and these decisions can drastically affect them. when it comes to youngsters decision making, some people hold the opinion that nowadays, young people are less depended on their parents and they are able to make their own decisions better than in the past and I concur with this idea. In the ensuing lines, I will explain two reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

First, nowadays, young people are more concern about their independence than in the past. Decades ago, people used to live close together and after turning 18 children did not leave their families and they kept living adjacent them so parents believed it is their legal right to interfere in youngsters’ issues. today, people have to be separated soon because of college, job, and marriage. these days, so important is independence for youngsters that they need to practice it from young ages. Take my grandmother as an example, she told me her parents chose her husband and she did not see him before the wedding day, besides, she was not allowed to complain about it. On the contrary, today, no one allows other people to make such decisions for them and they firmly repudiate it.

Second, thanks to the new technologies young people access to various sources of information. In the past, people had no choice but to consult with older people as they were more experienced and involved in youngsters' lives. However, in today's world people can find their answers and different people with the same problem with a short a search on the Internet so they can study these cases and other people comments and analysis them to make the best decision. Moreover, parents are not accustomed to new challenges so young people have to look for their answers somewhere else. For instance, when I was going to university I had a hard time making a decision about the most appropriate university and city. my parents were not able to help me because of the lack of information so I started reading different forums and talking to other people with the same situation. Finally, I made the whole decision on my own and I am satisfied with it.

In conclusion, based on the aforementioned explanations and examples I believe that these days, young people are more dependent in making a decision in comparison with the past because they are more concern about their independence and more sources of information are available because of progress in the technology.