Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

Thanks to the new technology and human being's talent the world is changing at a rapid pace and no two days are the same. However, this issue concerned many individuals about people's satisfaction. Some people believe due to the quick changes people are less contented with their lives than in the past, on the other hand, some people have the opposite idea. Personally speaking, I concur with the latter side. In the ensuing lines, I will explain two reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

First, the better is the economy the happier are people. Nowadays the economy is grossing all around the world and people are able to afford different items. Years ago, only a small group of people accessed to items like cars, cellphones, and foreign trips, whereas most of the people can afford them these days because of the improving economy. For instance, my grandmother told me 70 years ago, only 10 percent of people in her city had car and others had to use horses and carriages which in emergency situations were frustrating.

Second, the advancement in new technology and health care makes life easier and convenient than ever. Each week, people see or hear about new instruments that are invented to facilitate different tasks and people do not need to do mundane tasks anymore like washing dishes or vacuuming houses. Decades ago, so limited was technology that people had to try hard and spend long hours for today’s ordinary tasks like talking to their family members. Besides, technology resulted in new cures for previous fatal disease. In the past, hundreds of people could die for a simple disease but today, doctors can cure most of them. Take Malaria as an example, millions of people died because of it; however, nobody suffers it anymore.

Finally, new political attitudes and people’s awareness have made the world a peaceful place in comparison with the past. The world went through many wars including to horrible world wars but now people are living in a more peaceful place and less number of people lose their lives in battlefields so they can be with their family and enjoy their lives. Although wars continue in few parts of the world especially in the middle east, many parts of the world are in a tranquil situation. For instance, I have an old lady neighbor who lost her five boys in the war in a day. She described for me how hard was life those days and many families and soldiers died and committed suicide because of the harsh situation and famine.

In conclusion, according to the aforementioned explanations and examples, people are more satisfied in their lives than in the past because of a better economy, more technology and health care, and more peace.