Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As one reaches adulthood from adolescence, there are countless situations of making choices, from minor details to life-changing decisions, and the way they make these decisions has evolved with time. Personally I agree with the statement that young people are more capable of making decisions without depending on their parents compared with in the old days, due to reasons in access to information, location differences and changes in culture.

To start with, young people today have access to more information about the decisions. Thanks to the popularity of the Internet and social media, it becomes easier to gather information about a variety of decisions. This aids young people in analyzing the costs and benefits of such choices, as well as the potential consequences and the opinions of people around them. For instance, finding an apartment is an important issue for young people who have moved to a new city for study or work. In decades ago, a practical solution is to consult their parents who may have been to this city or have friends and relatives there, while today they can rely on the numerous online platforms for renting apartments, which provides abundant information about the locations, decorations and costs of thousands of places to stay. This suggests that more convenient access to information enables young people to make decisions independently.

Another reason why young people make choices more independently is geological constraints. The disparities in economic development has lured many young people to find opportunities in larger cities, while many of their parents stay in the small town, where they have spent most of their life and maintained strong bonds with their friends and acquaintances. In this case, it is unlikely that their parents are familiar with the circumstances and potential choices that young people are faced with in a totally different place, so young people are inclined to rely on themselves as well as friends and colleagues that they have known in the cities. Take my life experience as an example. When I arrived in a large city that was two thousand kilometers away from my hometown for study, I asked my local classmates about the different habits and social norms, because probably my parents did not know much about this city that they have never been to. This geological difference forced me to make the decision without my parents’ help.

Last but not least, changes in cultures may motivate young people to make decisions without asking their parents for help. In many countries, cultures decades ago tend to put an emphasis on the connections between family members, and expect parents and young people to keep each other company and support each other. In contrast, modern cultures encourages personal development as individuals, and people hold a more positive attitude towards pursuing one's own dreams, thus young people are less constrained when taking life choices. For example, many students today choose to take a gap year between college and graduate study to explore where their interests lie through travelling, working or volunteering. This choice is possible because the modern culture encourages them to put finding their true interests prior to supporting their family at the earliest age possible.

In conclusion, young people today are better at making decisions without depending much on their parents, because they have more readily available information online, they live in a distance from their parents, and their ways of making choices are supported by the modern culture.