Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s world cars play a significant role in humans’ life. Cars are one of the most important facets of transportation in every society, and since the invention of car in about 100 years ago, their usage is increasing in a galloping rate. But, there is a controversy on the future of the cars’ usage so that some are of the opinion that in the coming years automobile industry will not be as prosperous as today, while others believe otherwise. I—for on—subscribe to the first idea on the ground that cars have many disadvantages which will cause to impede utilizing it in the future such as: disruptive traffic jam, air pollution, and speed of movement, to name but a few.

To begin with, by unprecedented rate of growing megacities and also population concentration in these cities, cars’ traffic is a major problem and albeit many solutions that are suggested to this problem but, still there is no any perfect remedy to this social difficulty and annoying traffic jam is increasing more and more in big cities. So it seems that in the future there will be only one way to resolve this challenge and it is the get rid of the cars and use of other transportation vehicles such as subway and monorail.

Secondly, cars are one of the most important elements of air pollution. Although, many governments has been trying to use other source of fuels to reduce this problem but still majority of automobiles are using fossil fuels and they are exacerbating the pollution of the air by emission of more contaminants. Therefore, it can be predicted that other types of transportation vehicles, which can use electricity and other green materials as fuels, will be utilized instead of cars in the future.

Last but not least, developing in society needs more speed. In other words, the more fast transportation is, the higher rate of progressing society experiences. With regard to the first reason that traffic jam reduces the cars’ speed and also regarding the inherent features of cars, the speed of movement is not fast enough with cars and can not meet the future developed societies demands. Therefore it is predictable that there will be a terrible need to fast transportation in next few years and cars will not be able to satisfy this need.

All in all, I do believe that cars can not purvey the increasing demands of societies from transportion vehicles in the future and they should be supplanted by a new vehicle that can be more efficient, less pollutant, and also faster.