do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

in twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today

Try to imagine a life without having a car. How would your days be? Would you still be able to get on time for work? Would you still be able to travel wherever you want? Would you be considered not up-to-date? Those are some of the important reasons to have at least a car for an individual nowadays. Usually, a working person will each get a car for those purposes. Do agree that the fact mentioned before is why there are too many cars queuing up on the road. However, I believe that the number of cars in the next twenty years will be fewer in use than there are today due to the public awareness on the pollution and environment, as well as high living cost that causes money to be used for other basic needs but cars.

Public awareness has been rapidly increasing since few years back among the citizens. People in the urban areas usually need to struggle with the problem. The campaigns work by emphasizing how gases emitted by the cars would affect the environment and thus creating pollution. The campaigns on using public transports such as buses, trains and taxis, also provide an alternative to reduce the environmental pollution. Because of that, people choose public transportation services over having a car. The services keep updated days to days to ensure people can use them effectively and to the maximum. Therefore, increasing public awareness among people nowadays is one of the reasons there would be fewer cars in the next twenty years.

Living cost is expected to be very high in the future. People need to manage their financials very well. Therefore, one of the ways is by not putting “to have a car” in the must-need-list but prioritizing the living cost on other basic needs such as food, shelters and maybe life insurances. Due to struggling with the economy, most people choose to not have a car because once one owns a car, the money would not stop flowing only to the car company. Do not forget the cost for maintenance, cost for gas, even cost for the car insurance. Those matter. For that reason, number of cars is expected to decline in the next 20 years.

As conclusion, I believe the number of cars in the next twenty years would be fewer than it is now because of the awareness of taking care of the environment by reducing pollution and high living cost in the future.