Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding whether the cars would be less in use than today in twenty years, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the standpoint that this won't happen because people need cars to transport and enjoy travelling. I partly agree with their notion. However, from my opinion, I contend that it would be definitely fewer cars which are used in twenty years than today.

First, as the fast development of the whole society, people have come to realize the importance and necessary implementation of protecting environment. As the saying goes, protecting the environment is protecting ourselves and our generations in the future. Therefore more and more people tend to abandon the way taking cars and turn to more environmental friendly methods, like taking bikes. According to a survey conducted by Wuhan university in 2018 about the change of transportation ways among citizens, 61% of candidates have decreased their use of cars in the past ten years. Furthermore, 42% of citizens have turned to ride bikes or take subway for transportation in the past seven years. Thus it is visible that the use of cars would definitely reduce in twenty years through this trend.

Second, with the technology development and higher efficiency modern people require, using cars would not be the most convenient and efficient method. It is true that cars really bring us much convenience and efficiency in the past, however it is still criticized by many problems: air pollution, noise and time-consuming. Thus under no circumstance should we conclude that we will continue using cars as the main way of transportation, just like the process that human gave up taking horse carriage and invent the stem train for moving. What is likely happen in twenty years would be that we come to decrease the usage of cars because of some problems and turn to use more efficient and eco-friendly tools like airplane, trains or even some new tools we invented in the future.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that nowadays cars must be the most prevalent transportation tool all over the world, due to its low cost and convenience. Whereas it does not mean it would continue dominating in twenty years because of higher demand for transportation tools for people.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument that there would not be fewer cars in use than there are today in twenty years, namely its low cost and convenient, more eco-friendly tools humans need, coupled with higher efficiency for transportation tools people require makes a strong case for fewer cars in use than today in twenty years.