Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding the issue of whether the ability to maintain friendships with a few people during a long time is more important for happiness than the ability to make friends easily, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the ability to make new friends is more critical because it provides you continuous different exposing to various people. I partly agree with their notions. However, from my point of view, I attach greater importance for the ability to keep friendships in small circles for a long time.

Firstly, the friendships with a small number of people gives you a feeling of safe and intimate because you know each other well. When you are exposed to a large group of people, it is impossible for you to make interactions with everyone which can lead the the fact that you don't even know your friend's habits even though you are friends. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. Mike and Glenn, the two of my best friends, we are so intimate because we shared the time in the same classroom during the six years in middle and high school. The long time period of life and study made us link firmly. I always feel so safe and sound even during the most hard time because of the existence of other two people. The friendships just gives me endless strength and brave through the dark period of my life.

Secondly, you are more accessible to succeed within a small network circle existing for a long time.The success brings happiness for you. As a saying goes, a friend in need is a friend indeed. Normally, a common friend won't devote all of himself to help you out, that's to say, you have to face dilemma yourself. But if you have really some good friends for a long time, they can be the last straw for you. According to a survey conducted by Beijing University in China, more than 70 percent of the people who create their own business have gained the support from less than 5 friends, and nearly all of the friendships had existed over 3 years.

It is undeniable that someone persists that making new friends brings your more happiness because of the different perspectives from others. But when no one is willing to push you out from a swap, you will know it is useless to make new friends without even the basic knowing of others.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument for the importance for happiness of the ability to make many new friends, namely having more perspectives from othres, feeling safe and sound, coupled with more chances to succeed, makes a strong case for the more importance for happiness of ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time.