Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding whether governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the standpoint that this statement is true because arts can improve people's appreciation ability of arts and awareness of beauty. I partly agree with their notion. However, from my point of view, I contend that government should spend more money to support athletics than to support arts.

Firstly, athletics bring glory and respect from other countries if they get good grades in Olympic Games. We all have the experience that when the athletics from our country win the first prize in an important game, it is so proud to sing the national anthem and get the gold medal. What's more, this could make the athletics from other countries all come to congratulate which is definitely a glory. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. I still remember when Sun Yang, the famous Chinese male swimmer athletics, won the gold medal in 2012 Olympic games, all the other athletics came to congratulate him and took pictures with him. Furthermore, many media reported this thing and appreciate the whole China for making such a good achievement.

Secondly, people especially young teenagers tend to imitate the athletics to spend time doing sports which will reduce the obesity rate and improve the healthy rate. As is known to all, everybody has the habit to imitate stars, so it is such a good idea for citizens to imitate famous athletics to do sports which can give a solution to the problem of higher obesity rate among young students. According to a survey conducted by WuHan university in 2017, after the famous Chinese table tennis player Zhang Jike became famous for his talented skills and handsome appearance, about 43% more young people below 18 took part in table tennis every week. What's more, the whole obesity in China reduced 8%, especially among young girls.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that governments spend more money in support of the arts can make citizens improve their arts appreciation ability, but in support of athletics can bring stronger effect like reducing obesity rate and motivating citizens to go outside and do sports.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument about the more importance for governments in support of arts, namely improving appreciation ability and awareness of beauty, bring respect and good reputation to our country, coupled with help citizens motivate to do sports makes a strong case for the more importance for governments to spend more money in supports of athletics than in support of the arts.