Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding whether nowadays people spend too much time on personal recreation things they like to do rather than doing things they should do, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the standpoint that this statement is true because many people just seem to relax and enjoy themselves showed by the posted pictures on the Internet. I partly agree with their notion, however from my opinion, I disagree with this statement.

First, people today spend less time doing what they are really interested in and just finishing tasks they should do to make a living. As the fast development of our society, the pressure and stress on people become more and more. We had to face and finish what we should do to make a living in these fierce competing world, so the time we spend on personal enjoyment-doing things is compressed. According to a survey conducted by Wuhan university about the social pressure today in 2018, the result of it shows about 1/3 of people claim that they are less happy and joyful than the past because they have to spend much more time doing things they should do than on relaxed and enjoyment-doing things. Furthermore, even 40% of candidates say that they had to compress or even conceal the time they spend on the things what they are really interest in to compromise the time spending on the things they should do in study and work.

Second, under no circumstance should we acquire the real style and condition of a person's life from his/her social media, because it is the instinct of humans to show and behave the best side of their life in front of others. Nonetheless, many of us are suffering from pressures in the society and it comes to become a phenomenon that we spend much more time doing things we just need to do, but we post many pictures of enjoyment-doing things we like but rarely do on the Internet. Consider my own experience for example which can shed some light on this issue. I was a crazy fan of NBA and I nearly saw every game of Rocket. However I had to reduce my time watching the favorite basketball live show because of the heavy burden of my study and work tasks I should do. So every time others asked me why I had so much spare time watching games after they saw my posting pictures, I can just replied actually the pictures were from the Internet and I just only know the result.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that someone contends nowadays people can spend much more time on personal things they like because of the more relaxed regulations. However, the fact is people today had to spend much time doing things they are ought to do rather than doing things they like to do.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument that people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things rather than doing things they should do, namely the looser regulations nowadays, much more burden on people in this society, coupled with disaccord between pictures online and the real condition of people's life makes a strong case for the disagreement with this statement.