Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding the issue of whether all university students should be required to take history courses no matter whatever their major is, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain it is not required because it make students tired to learn the additional things. I partly agree with their notions. However, from my point of view, I attach great importance for students to taking history courses no matter what their fied of study is.

Firstly, studying the history benefits your future life which can prevent you from making the failures that already made by some people ahead of you. As is known to all, China has a long history which can date back 5000 years. There are numerous emperors and great people in such a long period and what we can learn from it can never be calculated. Consider my own experience can shed some light on this issue. I was a person with too much self-confidence. I thought the students who scored lower than me can't compare to me in all aspects. But in one day, I read about a story in ancient China which tells a talented boy looking down to all people and finally did nothing because no one wanted to be his friends. I always appreciate this story for helping me out from self-confidence and prevent the serious condition.

Secondly, you can be inspired from the history courses and figure out innovation. There is an old saying in China: Studying the history can inspire you and make you smarter. It is really true for many scholars. According to a survey, there are over seventy percent of all scientists and experts in China like reading history books and taking history courses in their leisure time. I contends that is reason why they can always come out the brilliant idea that our common people can't come out. The inspiration of history is enormous and beneficial.

It is undeniable that some students can feel exhausted when they have to add a history course to their already full schedule. But I believe they will appreciate that if they find the inspiring points they can acquire from it. Nothing can compare to the benefit of improving themselves constantly.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument for the unnecessary of taking history courses for university students, namely feeling worn out and upset, preventing making further failures, coupled with getting inspiration from it makes a strong case that it is necessary for all university students are required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.