Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they already know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding whether successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they already know how to do well, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the standpoint that successful people always do the things that they know how to do well, because in this way they can gain more confidence to succeed. I partly agree with their notion. However, from my opinion, I contend that successful people tend to try new things and take risks rather than only doing things what they are familiar with.

First, the reason behind many successful people to succeed is that they are brave and aggressive enough to take risks and try new things. Thus it is exactly this kind of innovation method help them achieve their goals and achieve. On the contrary, they will not care about the things they already know they can do well because it means nothing or little to them even if they make some great achievement on them. Consider Jacky Ma which is the founder of Alibaba for example which can shed some light on this issue. He was just a common English teacher in China when he decided to found Alibaba, many people persuade him to cede and told him to continue being a teacher. However, he just said he knew he could become an excellent teacher with regard to his skills, so he wanted to challenge founding a great company. As a result, he chose the right way and because of his spirit of innovation, Alibaba has become one of the best companies in the world.

Second, under no circumstance should we leave ourself in the safe zone, once you have been in it for a long time, all of your passion would be faded and your competitors would catch up even leave you behind. Therefore it is vital for people to stay in a atmosphere containing risks and challenges, only in this circumstance can we grow up and become stronger. As a saying goes, risks are accompanied with opportunities, all the successful people are fully aware of this statement. According to a survey conducted by Wuhan university about successful celebrities in China, almost 4/5 of them succeed by ceding some comfortable things and environment and then devoted themselves into a new and unknown career. Furthermore, about 40% of them claim that it is the spirits of taking risks and being brave to adventure help them gain the achievements and level of what they are today.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that some people asserts that some successful people succeed by doing what they already know how to do well, but it does not mean successful people only doing what they are good at. On the contrary, it is the ability of trying new things and taking risks help them succeed.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument that some people think successful people only do what they are familiar with, namely gaining more confidence, the innovation they have gained to succeed, coupled with always putting themselves in a challenging environment to keep fighting, makes a strong case for the argument that successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they already know how to do well.