Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding whether it is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation, different people hold divergent opinions. Some people would maintain the standpoint that it is indeed more important because Internet access can take you to anywhere regardless the space and time. I partly agree with their notion. However, from my point of view, I disagree with this statement.

First, public transportation bring us more chances for us to talk with others face to face which makes easy for us to make sincere friends. It is true that Internet can be so easy for anyone to chat no matter where you are now, but it is hard for two people to become sincere friends just by chatting online without talking with each other face to face and find whether they really like each other. According to a survey conducted by WuHan university in 2018, about 64% people tend to make really good friends offline because they think only the long duration of being together can make friendship or relationship convincing. Hence, the Internet access can only give them the chance to meet, the public transportation give them the chance to meet each other and have a interesting conversation face to face.

Secondly, public transportation brings you beautiful scenes in the real world which can relax you after a hard work or study day. For people today, Internet is common and most useful tools in work or study. Thus it is so common for many people especially young guys to sit in front of computers for a whole day without any breaks or going outside for relaxing themselves which can lead serious health problems in a long time. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. I was a fat boy who liked staying inside and playing video games all day alone without going outside. However, an opportunity made me go on the bus and saw scenery along the routine. The peaceful pictures really impressed me and made me form a habit to relax myself by public transportation everyday.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that Internet access is much faster than public transportation. Whereas Internet can only take your account to somewhere rather than your flesh. It is more important and valuable for you to feel and witness the whole splendid world by yourself.

To sum up, whereas some people agree it is more significant for government to improve Internet access, namely the regardless of space and time limit, bringing more chances for people to make sincere friends, coupled with relaxing yourself by seeing beauty after a hard day makes a strong case for more importance for government to spend more money to improve public transportation than to improve Internet access.