Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that it is better to have a vast knowledge of many academic subjects rather than being an expert in one specific subject. I personally agree with the latter idea and my points of view are as follows.

As a first point, nowadays, people are struggling to find a job and vacancies are mostly devoted to experts in the field. Therefore you have to be expert to find a suitable career. For example, I remember that there was an announcement recruiting an expert in theoretical physics, with an extreme salary, who is able to work in machine learning.

Secondly, studying in a certain subject can improve the field of study properly. Indeed, you will be able to present some ideas and solve some open problems in that field, while a shallow learning can not help. This is why scientists can publish a paper in their graduate program which is more specialized, while an undergraduate student usually can not release a publication.

Finally, on the other hand, having a broad knowledge of many academic subjects does not seem to be useful. For instance, I had a classmate who studied both Physics and Mathematics in our undergraduate program. Albeit, he was successful in both subjects, however, he did not work out a significant problem in each field.

To sum up and summarize my point of view, I agree that today people should be specialized in a certain subject deeply because they can easily find a profession and solve a problem in their field of study.