Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Governments take great efforts to improve people’s standard of living and attach great importance to the developments of country. They also have to decide how to allocate the fiscal expenditure properly. Many argue that the money from governments should be better invested in building Internet instead of public transportation. In my view, spending money to guarantee of greater access to Internet outweighs improving public transport system.

Firstly, one of the reasons why Internet access is of more importance is that it is the most critical link for us to the globe in today’s world. What that means is that countries around the globe, in this information-exploding era, are tightly connected, while only Internet can provide opportunities to help us communicate with the world rapidly and efficiently. For example, through Internet, people now are able to do oversea business rather than being limited to domestic market. By doing so, the commerce in different countries is highly connected and the import and export of a nation can thus be significantly boosted. This is imposible in the past. Therefore, investment in developing Internet access is much more needed.

Another reason for the Internet's significance is that it holds the key to people's quality of life. This is because with Internet, we can contact with our families or friends living far from us anytime and anywhere despite the great distance between us; we can conveniently watch a movie or listen to fantastic music online; we can also access to loads of distance learning courses for our self-development. Otherwise, our life will be boring, and we cannot live such a colorful life as today. Internet access is so important that the government are bound to spend money on it.

Admittedly, improving the existing public transportation can greatly reduce people’s commute time and distance. Besides, it can help the transport to be more environmental-friendly if a developed public transportation system is built. Despite this, public transportation is good enough in many cities, and developing transportation further has a low price-performance ratio / is not that rewarding and necessary. As a result, if the government spent a large amount of money on this, the effect might not be apparent and this would contribute to a waste of source.

This essay discussed that spending money to improve Internet access can contribute to the closer connection between countries and the people’s well-being. To sum up, strengthening internetwork is more necessary and significant than public transportation.