Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally speaking, friendship has been a fundamental and long-lasting relationship since the beginning of human history. Complex as it is, people have discussed multiple aspects of the definition of friends. As an old saying goes "Old friendship lasts forever", I, personally support the idea which maintaining old friendship is way more valuable than making new friends.

First of all, a friend in need is a friend indeed. It is crucially important to have friend to reach out to while you're struggling or under huge stress. From my experience, an old friendship passes the exam without saying. When my dead father died of brain stroke, it was my high school mate, John, who called me for the first time, helping to relieve my grief. Moreover, he kept me company for the following weeks and encouraged me to look on the bright side of life. A proper sympathy from him moves all the burden on my shoulder. Needless to say, it is unlikely that new folks whom you met in the library a few weeks ago would offer this kind of help.

Besides, true friendship should be a relationship of mutually respected, understanding and comfort. For example, knowing that I am not used to drinking, every time when I hang out with Jason, a friend I have known for 10 years, he would never ask me to have any alcoholic beverage for fun or even make fun of me on it. On the other hand, a new friend maybe polite at first but under the surface, he/she would possibly joke about one's behaviour. Accordingly, old friendship is the one worth maintaining.

Overall speaking, I strongly agree with the idea of maintaining old, long-lasting friendship since they are the one who would help you get through difficulties and show respectiveness. Again, as the old saying goes, "a friend in need is a friend indeed".