Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the following essay I would like to express my opinion in regard to the thesis “ it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends”

On the other hand, you could say that making friend is a lot more entertaining than keeping in touch with the old ones. There are new topics to talk about, new activities to do together, new personality traits to discover… Additionally, you also get to meet the persons who are closed to your new friends. And maybe you will even receive a whole group of new friends by making one new friend.

However, you could say that it makes much more sense to keep in touch with your old friends since they are your true friends. Firstly, you already know how to react to certain situations and therefore you know how to treat them to get along well. Secondly, I am of conviction that it is certain that it is lot more likely that your old friends will help you out than that someone you have met barely a week ago would do the same.

Though, I have to admit that I need my old friends as well as my new friends. For me they are both equally important. I adore keeping in touch with my old friends and knowing how they will react in most situations. Of course, over the years some sorts of bond and a special kind of trust have developed with my long- time friends.

However I immensely enjoy making new friends as well. I enjoy trying new activities and making new friends there. Furthermore, I like making friends from all kinds of different cultures and countries. And I am certain that this kind of attitude makes life much more interesting. Plus, I believe that new friends will also broaden your horizon because their beliefs may differ from your own.

Personally, I am convinced that nobody has to decide between old friends and new friends since the possibility of keeping the old friends and making new ones always exists. Therefore as final statement I would like to say: “cherish your old friends and enjoy making new ones as well”