Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn the facts

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that is enough for a student just learning the concepts which are structured in the textbook because it is more vital than the facts. I disagree with this opinion because of two reasons.

First, the theory of a problem is composed from actual events that happen in reality so that if there is no fact, there is no concept. A student should start from the fact which is the origin of a problem. For example, economists introduced the concept of the invisible hand from the supply and demand data that they had been documented and observed in decades. Students acknowledge this fact can explore other case and fully understand the fact through the theory.

Second, facts are useful for students future in applying for both research and business work. Research topics come from actual issues which are problematic and need to be solved. Understanding from the fact of a phenomena helps students realize the problem logically and be able to apply the theory to find solutions for it. As for working in a company, it is more beneficial for employees to fully acknowledge the actual issues of a concept. For example, a farmer might need the knowledge of rain is more frequent in summer than the concept that cloud is accumulated more electronic so that causing rain.

To sum up, I personally believe that a full understanding of the fact could be more useful and more important for students. Learning from reality which is where the concept coming from is highly essential.