Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We make friends during our whole live and it is really important to keep them forever. They are who help us when we have a problem and most of the time they do it better than a family member so that is why I believe that is vital not only making new friends but also keeping the old ones. In the following essay, I will explain why I believe so.

First, friendship is priceless, is something that grow with the years and we have to work hard to keep it. When we get a new friend, we have to take care of it as our own family. I believe that we always can make new friends because there are people that appear in our live with a purpose, once they come into our lives, they stay forever. As a result, they become in our confidents or partners in crime. My personal experience is compelling example of this. About ten years ago, I had to move to New York City because of my work. There I did not know anyone so every day I after work I had to figure it out how to take the bus because I lived far away from my work. One day a coworker saw me walking to the bus station and he asked me why every day I had to do it. I explained to him that the reason was that I did not had a car and I lived far away Since that day my coworker take me to my home after work and also since then we started a great friendship that still remain.

Second, sometimes there are situations in our lives where your best friend of the years is the correct person to help you. Maybe in those situations not a family member is able to face it as a best friend can do it. For example, I remember when I was studying dentistry in Chicago Dental University I fail one of my classes. Nobody could know about that situation because was critical for me. The only person who helped me to face it was my best friend from my childhood. She advised me how to deal with the professors and also how to manage my financial situation to avoid lost my career. I will always remember the support that my best friend gave to me.

I conclusion, I would like to mention that both kind of friendship are important in our live, old friends and also new friends. Each one arrived to our live in a perfect time.