Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Since the beginning of this century, in the distinctive civilized societies, it has been a very controversial argument among individuals or even intellectuals that life today is more convenient than it was in the past, through which numerous conflicts has engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that life is getting easier as the time goes by, while others consider this argument in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all opposite attitudes I strongly concur with the statement that today life is easier than it was in the past. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored below.

To begin with, the development in technology has made the living for humankind easier. Imagine your life without the power of electricity. It would probably have been a difficult life for people who had been lived during the time that there were no lighting bulbs. For example, my grandfather always was telling us some stories of ghosts and goblins, which they thought that they existed in the blackout. Indeed, they had to carry candles everywhere they went to, even in the bathroom. Obviously we don’t need to do that anymore. Moreover, the transportation system was so primary. Despite some elites that had cars, many of people just had bicycles, and clearly they couldn’t use that for long-distance trips. The only option for this kind of trips would be trains, so a simple trip from New York to Arizona would take much more time than it takes today.

In addition to the development of technology, the medical condition has been improved. I believe, in the past, the healthcare condition wasn't comparable to its today’s condition. As a matter of fact, there were so many diseases that either couldn't be cured or would ruin individuals' life for the rest of their lives. For example, even penicillin vaccine hadn’t been discovered; therefore, a lot of people would die because of an illness as simple as cold. However, today the disease even as complicated as cancer has its own medicine. From my personal experience, I would like mention my aunt that had suffered from breast cancer, but she eventually could overcome the disease once and for all.

Apart from the points I made above, there is also another reason that I would like to discuss about. It is that life is more fun today than it was in the past. In fact, in the past even the TV hadn't been invented. People would probably go to vaudeville in order to have fun. However, today, people have much more fun watching TV. For example, when one gets bored he or she can simply switch the channel in to his or her favorite one because the TV provides a fascinating spectrum of shows such as comedy shows, reality shows, documentaries, and so forth.

By way of conclusion, based on the argument explored above, I fundamentally agree with the statement that, nowadays, the individuals experience a much more comfortable life rather than they did in the past, and I hold my opinion for several reasons. Firstly, the development of technology has made living easier. Secondly, the quality of our lives is getting better because of all the healthcare advancements. Finally, life today is more convenient simply because it’s more fun.