Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's era tv has become our major source of entertainment, all the sections of the society actively watches it. therefore, the question of whether tv is harmful or beneficial for us has become imperative. personally, I believe tv's are causing damage to us, which we are continuously neglecting. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, incessant exposure to screen can cause damage to our eyes, which can make the vision impaired. Studies have suggested that children are being involved in watching movies for a longer duration, due to which almost every children of today's generation can be seen wearing spectacles to make for the loss of their vision. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. Ten years ago, when I was kid, on tv there used to come a lot of cartoon shows and that too right one after the other. As a result, I got stuck in watching them for three to four hours. therefore, my habit of watching prolong session of television started pain in my eyes, which ultimately resulted in doctor advising me to wear spectacles to correct my vision defect. if I would have not watched the tv, I won't have to wear glasses till today.

Secondly, major damage of the television and movies is on the brains of the children. As children have very sensitive mind, which becomes highly active while viewing tv and give rise to feeling of imitating what they have seen on the tv. this act of imitating can sometimes cost severely for children. For instance, my uncle's son who is just seven years old is fond of watching movies, especially of the superheroes. he used to spent hours watching his favorite superstars. Consequently, his mind becomes overwhelmed by the actions superheroes perform in the movie and he thought of imitating them, so that he can feel like a superhero. Hence, he went to the terrace of his house and tried to jump down thinking that he would fly like a superman. if my aunt had not seen him on time that what he is trying to do, we might have lost him. therefore, movies are severely affecting developing minds of the children.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that movies and televisions are deleterious for us. this is because they are causing vision impairment and because they are affecting the brains of the children and making them imitate their superstars.