Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Movies and television impact our society in many different ways. In fact , it is important to analyze the effect of these media on youngsters because they are very vulnerable. Many people probably believe that media have only positive impact on our young generation because they have a narrow view of the big picture ahead. In my opinion however, the television and movies have more negative impact than positive impact on young people's behavior due to a variety of reasons.

First of all, negative role models pictured in movies and television serials have a great impact on our young generation.These kind of characters often misbehave with the people, break rules and are misanthropic. Television program presents them in a glorified way that youngsters emulate there character blindly. For example, a small boy who constantly watch a television show of this type of character are more likely to follow those behavior. He may end up trying illegal drugs and alcohol and may become addicted without knowing the after effect. If the boy did not have seen this television character, his life would have been much better. This example clearly demonstrates the impact of negative role models on youngsters these days.

Secondly, television and movies are often controlled by people who wants to make the public think and act in a particular way. Because of the lack of life experiences and immaturity of young people they are often exploited by these bad people in our society. For instance, a young man who watches a television program which is supported by bad politicians will probably get a negative impression about the other political leader. Those powerful people will try to inject poisonous information to the youngsters mind through wrong news and events. As the young viewers are so innocent they will not be able to differentiate the truth and lie. Gradually young generation develop a hatred against politicians and may behave weird in public meetings. As long as there is no restriction for this kind of false information broadcasted through television, I believe that television and movies will have more bad than positive effect on young people.

In conclusion, television and movies always have more bad sides that often brings negative behavior in our youngsters. This is because young people are attracted to glorified negative villains and because there is no rule to control media's false information.