Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, young generation has to follow many rules and regulations. In fact, it is important that these rules and regulations should be directed towards the well being of every citizen. Many young people probably think that society expect them to obey strict rules which is not fair. In my opinion however, rules are very much required and cannot be considered strict due to a variety of reasons .

Firstly, I believe that it is the attitude of youngsters that make a rule strict or easy. While a gentlemen feels that rules are necessary and indispensable for a better society, a foolish person perceives the same rule with a negative sense. For example, a student who is very found of drinking, will feel annoyed of the rule that liquor should not be served below eighteen years of age. This same rule is accepted and followed by other young people because they are not addicted to alcohol. Therefore, it is not about the strictness of the law but the person's dependence on alcohol made him to feel that the law is not appropriate or too harsh to follow. Additionally, this rule protect our community from the dangers of drug addicts and alcoholics and also save young people from the tendency to follow this bad habits. Hence, rules are essential and person's perception makes rule easy or harsh.

Secondly, as society respect the freedom and happiness of young people they cannot impose or expect young people to follow strict rules. Rather, the rules which community execute on young generation is solely for their betterment and safety. For instance, the rule about 'juvenile licence' is made with the sole purpose of safety of young drivers and other people on the road. The rule strictly insist student drivers to practice driving only with the guidance of an elderly person . As a result, the person who sits with the young man can restrict him from harsh driving and speeding, which is the main reason of accidents these days. As youngsters are not well aware about the consequences of his action, a proper rule can constantly remind him about it. Gradually the student will learn from all these rules and become a mature driver. Hence, rules are necessary for young people even though it is hard to follow initially.

In conclusion,I strongly believe that society always expect youngsters to obey rules and regulation which is very appropriate. This is because rule follower's mindset makes a rule stringent or easy and also all rules are made for the betterment of the whole community.